Parliament of Georgia

9th Parliament of Georgia Approves New Government

Photo: მეორე არხი

With 110 votes in favour and 19 against, the 9th Parliament of Georgia approved a list of the country’s ministerial candidates. The United National Movement largely voted against the proposed candidates. A faction of the Patriots’ Alliance demonstratively left the plenary meeting without participating in the voting.

There are only three new faces in the government: Minister of Economy - Giorgi Gakharia,  State Minister for Euro-Atlantic Integration- Viktor Dolidze and Minister of Regional Development - Zurab Alavidze. The full list of ministers can be found below:  

  • Minister of Economy - Giorgi Gakharia

  • Minister of Finances - Dimitri Kumishvili

  • MInister of Justice - Tea Tsulukiani

  • Minister of Foreign Affairs - Mikheil Janelidze

  • Minister for Euro-Atlantic Integration- Viktor Dolidze

  • Minister of Internal Affairs - Giorgi Mgebrishvili

  • Minister of Defence - Levan Izoria

  • Minister of Corrections - Kakhi Kakhishvili

  • Mnister of Health - Davit Sergeenko

  • Minister of Internally Displaced Persons from the Occupied Territories, Accommodation and Refugees - Sozar Subari

  • Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure - Zurab Alavidze

  • Minister of Energy - Kakhi Kaladze

  • Minister of Education - Aleksandre Jejelava

  • Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs - Tariel Khechikashvili

  • Minister of Culture - Mikheil Giorgadze.

The reason for the United National Movement’s lack of support for the ministerial cabinet may be interpreted as the fact that the majority of the ministers have been holding these positions for the past four years. Patriots’ Alliance left the plenary meeting after leader of the party, Irma Inashvili, made a speech in which she defended her party’s non - aligned stance.


Log in or Register