Parliament of Georgia

Georgian Parliament Rescinds Status of 4 MPs

Photo: გარემოს დაცვის სამინისტრო

The Parliament of Georgia has officially suspended the status of 4 members of parliament as of November 30 given their appointment to ministerial positions. Giorgi Kvirikashvili (Prime Minister of Georgia), Kakhi Kaladze (Minister of Energy) and Giorgi Gakharia (Minister of Economy) were former MPs until their appointment to the ministerial cabinet of the Georgian government. The fourth MP whose status was suspended is former First Lady, Sandra Roelofs from the United National Movement, who herself refused to be a member of parliament.

On November 28, the 9th Parliament of Georgia officially approved a new government. The United National Movement largely voted against the proposed candidates. A faction of the Patriots’ Alliance demonstratively left the plenary meeting without participating in the voting.
There are only three new faces in the government: Minister of Economy - Giorgi Gakharia,  State Minister for Euro-Atlantic Integration- Viktor Dolidze and Minister of Regional Development - Zurab Alavidze. The full list of ministers can be found below:
  • Minister of Economy - Giorgi Gakharia

  • Minister of Finances - Dimitri Kumishvili

  • MInister of Justice - Tea Tsulukiani

  • Minister of Foreign Affairs - Mikheil Janelidze

  • Minister for Euro-Atlantic Integration- Viktor Dolidze

  • Minister of Internal Affairs - Giorgi Mgebrishvili

  • Minister of Defence - Levan Izoria

  • Minister of Corrections - Kakhi Kakhishvili

  • Minister of Health - Davit Sergeenko

  • Minister of Internally Displaced Persons from the Occupied Territories, Accommodation and Refugees - Sozar Subari

  • Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure - Zurab Alavidze

  • Minister of Energy - Kakhi Kaladze

  • Minister of Education - Aleksandre Jejelava

  • Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs - Tariel Khechikashvili

  • Minister of Culture - Mikheil Giorgadze.


Log in or Register