Visa Liberalization

RFE/RL: Visa Liberalization for Georgians will Enter into Force on March 29

Photo: Getty Images

Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty’s Brussels correspondent Rikard Jozwiak posted on his Twitter account that Schengen area visa liberalization for Georgian citizens will most probably go into force on the 29th of March.

“It is estimated that visa lib will enter into force on 29 march for #Georgia and 12 June for #Ukraine.” Jozwiak tweeted.

At a plenary session on February 2, members of the European Parliament decided to grant Georgians visa free travel to the Schengen Area. With 553 votes in favour, 66 against, and 28 abstentions, the voting on visa liberalization has come to an end.

Georgian citizens will be able to travel to the Schengen Area without a visa. They will be able to travel to 22 member state countries of the European Union and four non-EU member states for 90 days in a 180-day period.

Many high-level European officials such as EP President Martin Schulz, European Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy & Enlargement Negotiations Johannes Hahn, and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini, had previously expressed their support in granting Georgians visa free travel.

EU-Georgia relations have strengthened in recent years. An EU-Georgia Association Agreement was initiated at the EU Eastern Partnership Summit in Vilnius, Lithuania, on November 29, 2013, and the Association Agreement between Georgian and the European Union was signed on June 27, 2014.


Log in or Register