US Foreign Policy

US to Not Support Countries which Recognise Abkhazia and South Ossetia


The U.S. House of Representatives published a document on the budget for the current financial year, and states that the U.S. administration is prohibited from financially supporting any country that recognizes Georgia’s occupied territories of Abkhazia and South Ossetia as independent entities.

According to The House Amendment to the Senate to The Honoring Investments in Recruiting and Employing American Veterans Act of 2017: “None of the funds appropriated by this Act may be made available for assistance for the central government of a country that the Secretary of State determines and reports to the Committees on Appropriations has recognized the independence of, or has established diplomatic relations with, the Russian occupied Georgian territories of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia.”

In the section of the document regarding financing the U.S. Department of Defense, it says that the Pentagon budget cannot be spent on any initiative that will support the Russian annexation of Crimea. Additionally, the Ministry of Finance will be responsible for controlling American companies to avoid operating in a way that could violate the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.

The U.S. Senate will discuss the House Amendment in the nearest days. If the document is confirmed, U.S. President Donald Trump will sign it.


Log in or Register