US Foreign Policy

U.S. Cannot Support Countries Which Recognize Abkhazia and South Ossetia in Act

Photo: Getty Images

The U.S. House of Representatives published an act which says that the U.S. administration will not financially support any countries which recognize the independence of the de facto republics of Abkhazia and South Ossetia, Georgia’s breakaway regions. The document was adopted by the U.S. House of Representatives on May 4, which was followed by the Senate’s approval. U.S. President Donald Trump signed the act on May 6.

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia, “a passage on the occupation of Georgian territories was for the first time added to the U.S. spending bill,” they said in an official statement. The passage was included under a chapter on Russian aggression, Georgia’s MFA said.

President of Georgia Giorgi Margvelashvili has commented saying that “with this bill, the United States is defending Georgia’s sovereignty, integrity, and it significantly strengthens the non-recognition policy of the occupied territories. Both houses of the U.S. Congress, executive government, and President Trump himself have strengthened the U.S.-Georgia strategic cooperation even more. I thank our strategic partner for such support. I also want to thank the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia and Georgian Ambassador to the U.S. for their active and efficient work.”

Georgia’s Ambassador to the United States, Davit Bakradze, stated that “the U.S. is expressing a clear support of Georgia’s territorial integrity with this act; prevents the possibility of supporting the independence of the regions by other countries; and with this perspective, it once again approves the support for Georgia’s non-recognition policy.”

In the section of the U.S. House of Representatives documents concerning the U.S. Ministry of Defence, the document emphasizes that the Pentagon’s budgetary funds cannot be spent on the kind of actions which may contribute to supporting Crimea’s annexation by Russia.
Additionally, the document says that the Ministry of Finance should control American companies from making any kind of steps which will restrict the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.


Log in or Register