Parliament votes down parliamentary minority's candidates as GPB board members

საქართველოს პარლამენტი Photo: RFE/RL

The Parliament of Georgia approved three new members of the Georgian Public Broadcaster board of trustees, voting down two candidates picked by the parliamentary minority group.

199 lawmakers voted for Davit Kokhreidze, the candidate nominated by the Ajara Supreme Council. The candidates of the parliamentary majority, Grigol Gogelia and Aleksandre Vakhtangov received 81 and 85 votes respectively.

As for the candidates picked by the parliamentary minority group, Ninia Kakabadze and Davit Kiziria, they received insufficient number of votes – 38 and 40 respectively.

In January, the Parliament approved Marine Muskhelishvili, Lela Gaprindashvili, Ketevan Mskhiladze and Natela Sakhokia as the members of the GPB board of trustees, which, according to the new legislation, is composed of 9 members.

In addition, The Constitutional Court satisfied the lawsuit of Emzar Goguadze, Giorgi Meladze, Mamuka Pachuashvili, Zurab Davitashvili, Davit Kandelaki and Natalia Dvali and ruled that termination of authority of members of the board of trustees, based on the amendments made to the Law on Broadcasting, was unconstitutional.


Log in or Register