Georgia abolishes visa free regime for 24 countries


Georgia abolished visa free regime for 24 countries, while leaving visa free travel in force for 94 states. According to the Consular Department Director at the Interior Ministry, Giorgi Tabatadze the list of 94 countries the citizens of which will travel visa-free to Georgia. According to Tabatadze, the list includes the NATO and the EU member states, as well as Georgia's neighbouring countries from where a big number of tourists arrive to Georgia. Before applying amendments to the Law of Georgia on the Legal Status of Aliens and Stateless Persons, the number of the countries the citizens of which could enter Georgia without a visa was 118.

According to the latests amendments, the citizens of the countries with which Georgia has a visa free regime, can stay in Georgia for up to 90 days, instead of the previous 360 days. The amended law on the Legal Status of Aliens and Stateless Persons comes in force on 1 September.

Before the latest amendments, it was possible to receive the visas to enter Georgia at the state border, at diplomatic representations of Georgia and at the Agency of State Service Development of the Ministry of Justice. According to the amendments, visas will be issued only at the diplomatic representations of Georgia, while visas will be issued at the state border only in exceptional cases.

List of countries whose citizens may enter Georgia without a visa for a short-stay visit.

1. Commonwealth of Australia
2. Republic of Austria
3. Republic of Azerbaijan
4. Republic of Albania
5. United States of America
6. Principality of Andorra
7. Antigua and Barbuda
8. United Arab Emirates
9. Argentine Republic
10. New Zealand
11. Barbados
12. Kingdom of Bahrain
13. Commonwealth of the Bahamas
14. Republic of Belarus
15. Kingdom of Belgium
16. Belize
17. Bosnia and Herzegovina
18. Republic of Botswana
19. Federative Republic of Brazil
20. Nation of Brunei
21. Republic of Bulgaria
22. Federal Republic of Germany
23. Kingdom of Denmark
24. Kingdom of Denmark territories - Faroe islands, Greenland;
25. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
26. British overseas territories - Bermuda, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Falkland Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Gibraltar;
27. British dependant territories - Guernsey, Jersey, Isle of Man;
28. Commonwealth of Dominica
29. Republic of El Salvador
30. Republic of Ecuador
31. Kingdom of Spain
32. Republic of Estonia
33. Republic of Turkey
34. Turkmenistan
35. Japan
36. Irish Republic
37. Iceland
38. State of Israel
39. Italian Republic
40. Canada
41. State of Qatar
42. Republic of Cyprus
43. Republic of Colombia
44. Republic of Korea
45. Republic of Costa Rica
46. Republic of Latvia
47. Republic of Lithuania
48. Lebanese Republic
49. Principality of Liechtenstein
50. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
51. Republic of Mauritius
52. Malaysia
53. Republic of Malta
54. United Mexican States
55. Principality of Monaco
56. Republic of Moldova
57. Montenegro
58. Kingdom of the Netherlands
59. Kingdom of Netherlands territories - Aruba, the Netherlands Antilles;
60. Kingdom of Norway
61. Sultanate of Oman
62. Republic of Panama
63. Republic of Poland
64. Portuguese Republic
65. Republic of Romania
66. Russian Federation
67. Hellenic Republic
68. Republic of South Africa
69. Republic of San Marino
70. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
71. French Republic
72. French Republic territories - French Polynesia, New Caledonia
73. Republic of Seychelles
74. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
75. Republic of Serbia
76. Republic of Singapore
77. Slovak Republic
78. Republic of Slovenia
79. Republic of Armenia
80. Kingdom of Thailand
81. Republic of Tajikistan
82. Republic of Uzbekistan
83. Ukraine
84. Hungary
85. Republic of Finland
86. State of Kuwait
87. Kyrgyz Republic
88. Republic of Kazakhstan
89. Kingdom of Sweden
90. Swiss Confederation
91. Czech Republic
92. Holy See
93. Republic of Croatia
94. Republic of Honduras


Log in or Register