Government of Georgia

Parliament Approved New Cabinet of Ministers

Photo: გარემოს დაცვის სამინისტრო

Parliament approved the new Cabinet of Ministers and confirmed the Government of Georgia, with 103 MPs voting in favor and 17 against following discussions at a plenary session on Friday. Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili has been approved for the second time for this post. He will be heading 13 ministries.

The Parliament of Georgia was discussing the renewed composition of the parliamentary committees and factions for two days.

The 2-day plenary session was full with heated discussions in Parliament, including a verbal confrontation between Prime Minister Kvirikashvili and United National Movement opposition leader Nika Melia.

After the swearing-in of the government and cabinet, Prime Minister Kvirikashvili announced 2018 as a year of dialogue.

"I want to confirm the mindset of the Cabinet of Ministers: We will cooperate with everyone in the Parliament of Georgia with whom it is possible to have a civilized dialogue,” Kvirikashvili said.


Log in or Register